Monday Dec 6, 2021
Monday Dec 6, 2021
Civil Bank

Prime Minister Deuba wins vote of confidence

2021 Jul 18, 22:48, KATHMANDU
Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba has won the vote of confidence in the House of Representatives today.

Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba has won the vote of confidence in the House of Representatives (HoR) today.

Deuba, who is also the president of Nepali Congress, received 165 votes in his favour while there were 83 votes that were cast against him. A total of 249 parliamentarians were present today in the House of Representatives for the vote of confidence that PM Deuba had sought.

Meanwhile, one lawmaker decided to stay neutral during the vote of confidence motion.

Prime Minister Deuba received the support of lawmakers from Nepali Congress, CPN (Maoist Centre), Janata Samajbadi Party-Nepal and Rastriya Janamorcha. Meanwhile, a total of 22 lawmakers of the CPN UML including senior leader Madhav Kumar Nepal also voted in favour of Deuba.

The constitutional bench of the Supreme Court that had been hearing the writ petitions filed against the dissolution of the House of Representatives by President Bidhya Devi Bhandari on the recommendation of Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli and the Council of Ministers on May 22 had issued a verdict on July 12 stating that the move was unconstitutional.

The constitutional bench had also ordered for Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba to be appointed as the prime minister of the country as per Article 76 (5) of the Constitution of Nepal by 5 pm on July 13 according to which President Bhandari had appointed Deuba as prime minister on July 13 itself.

As per the constitution, Prime Minister Deuba had to seek a vote of confidence within 30 days of his appointment to the post of the executive head.

Prime Minister vote of confidence Sher Bahadur Deuba House of Representatives HoR Nepali Congress Parliament CPN Maoist Centre Janata Samajbadi Party Rastriya Janamorcha Supreme Court
Nepal's First Online News Portal
Published by Nepalnews Pvt Ltd
Editor: Raju Silwal
Information Department Registration No. 1505 / 076-77


KMC-02, UttarDhoka,
Lazimpat, Nepal

+977–01–4445751 / 4445754


Terms of Use Disclaimer
© NepalNews. 2021 All rights reserved. | Nepal's First News Portal